• @CTHSHockey Staff

2020-21 Season Preview: Darien Blue Wave

Conference: FCIAC

2019-20 Record: 16-4-0

Head Coach: Mac Budd (6th season)

Key Returning Players: Luke Johnston (D, Sr.), Jamison Moore (F, Sr.), Sam Erickson (F, Sr.), Matt Stein (D, Sr.), Teddy Dyer (F, Sr.), Ryan Sprengler (D, Jr.), Daniel Lowe (F, Sr.), Alek Garabet (F, Jr.), James Conway (F, Sr.), Albert Lian (D, Sr.), Chris Schofield (G, Jr.)

Impact Newcomers: Arthur Devillers (F, So.), Tommy Holland (D, Fr.)

Goalie Situation: Chris Schofield (2.13 GAA, .920 SV%) enters his third season with the Wave after seeing the bulk of the minutes last year in net. Schofield is as battle tested as they come. As a backup his freshman year, Schofield won DI Freshman of the Year after putting together an undefeated season in net. He followed it up last year backstopping a terrific Darien team to a 16-win season. Senior Teddy DeBeradinis would start on most teams in the state and Head Coach Mac Budd will get him some opportunities this season to show what he can do. Two strong netminders.

Key Losses: Bennett McDermott, Matt Fiorita, Jack Massey (all to graduation)

Outlook: The Blue Wave will return 18 players from a 16-win team a year ago. With depth upfront, on the blue line and in net, Darien is undoubtedly a favorite to win the FCIAC this year. Seniors Jamison Moore (11 G, 24 A, 35 Pts) and Sam Erickson (11 G, 12 A, 23 Pts) were both named to CTHSHockey’s Division I Second Team last year and enter this season as two of the state’s best all-around forwards. They are complemented nicely by an elite offense that will showcase its depth on any given night. Seniors Teddy Dyer, Daniel Lowe, James Conway, and Alek Garabet would be the headliners on any other team in the state and will definitely put some fear in the opposition. On the blue line, Darien returns arguably the state’s best defenseman in senior Luke Johnston (3 G, 18 A, 21 Pts), a First Team CTHSHockey honoree from a year ago. He’ll be joined by dependable fellow senior Matt Stein, junior Ryan Sprengler, and senior Albert Lian. In net, 6th year Head Coach and 2019-20 CTHSHockey Division I Coach of the Year, Mac Budd has as good of a duo as you can find in junior Chris Schofield and senior Teddy DeBeradinis. Ultimately, this is a team that has the makings of being one of the most solid all-around groups we’ve seen in recent memory. Depending how Budd arranges his forward talent, we could see a line comparable to the famed Ridgefield trio of Will Forrest, Nick Cullinan, and Matt Walker from a few years back. Budd is excited not only for his own team’s prospects but for the opportunity to play a strong schedule. “We are confident that we will get good results if we work hard and play for each other. We are especially excited because there are a bunch of really good teams this year and you will need to bring your best if you expect to win," Budd told CTHSHockey.

1,143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All